Make a Fixed Time for Study

עשה תורתך קבע – אמור מעט ועשה הרבה

Israel Bike Ride 2010 – We’re over the minimum

Posted by rabbiart on August 20, 2010


Thanks to all the contributors listed by name in the left hand column, and a few contributors who prefer to remain anonymous, I’ve met the minimum fund-raising amount of 100 x Chai, or $3600.00. Stay tuned for more exciting reports as the trip approaches, and daily posts about the ride once it begins. You’ve all contributed to breaking down the walls of hate and building bridges of friendship.

Consider these few sentences from one of the Jordanian alumni of the Arava Institute.

“I was born and raised by Palestinian parents in Amman, Jordan. My parents moved from Hebron to Jordan in 1956 before the six day war in 1967, and after the war they had no choice but to become citizens of a country where they did not belong. …I had never met a Jew before I started my studies in Israel. Before I arrived at the Arava Institute I had the impression that all Israelis were the enemy of the Arab. I quickly realized that many of these preconceptions were wrong….In addition to my involvement in the Arava Institute, I was a participant in the Camp Towanga Peace Makers Camp in the summer of 2006 and 2007 in California.. The camp gave me tools to strengthen my position as peacemaker and leader in the Arava Institute.
In my opinion, dealing with the Arab Israeli conflict through environmental lines will have the greatest positive impact on the conflict.”
Leave a Reply

 
