Make a Fixed Time for Study

עשה תורתך קבע – אמור מעט ועשה הרבה

Getting Ready for Israel

Posted by rabbiart on October 19, 2008

I had been blogging about my preparations for the Israel bike ride on a separate blog, but I’ve consolidated the two sites into this one.  You can read what I’ve been doing so far on cyclingforgoodness.

As of now I’ve raised almost $1900.  So I’ve got about $1700 to go in order to make the $3600 fund-raising minimum. Equally important, I’m in the final push of training before we leave Tuesday night November 4. Thanks to my friend David Sherman, I’ve got a bicycle trainer in the family room.  Except for hill work, the trainer is great, because there is no coasting and no forward motion.  I don’t know what the conversion rate would be, but a solid hour on the trainer has got to be equal to a couple hours of riding out on the street.  Last night I did a solid hour after Shabbes, and I hope to exceed that this afternoon.

I’ll be blogging about our trip and the ride everywhere in Israel where I can get Internet access.  The ride ends in Eilat, and the next day they have added a trip to Petra, so we’re really excited about that as well.  Carol in particular, with her love of archeology, has been wanting to go to Petra for the longest time.

Want to donate to the ride?  Go here

Leave a Reply

 
